Helen’s Cycles, Santa Monica

Helen’s Cycles, Santa Monica
2501 Broadway
Santa Monica, CA 90404

Helen’s Santa Monica (the flagship store for Helen’s Cycles) has a lot going for it: a killer central location in Santa Monica, access to the stock of six associated locations, the best brands (big and small) in the business, and a large and dedicated staff. In fact, many of the staff have been there for years (even double digits). Is it because they can sell bikes and love to do so? Sure, but they sell bikes well, because they REALLY know their way around bikes and components. That’s because most of them are avid cyclists, and love bikes in one form or another. It would be hard for me to pick out my favorite staff member on the floor, so I won’t. Ok, Tony. But everyone else is a close second.
I will say that Adam, the clothing buyer, knows more about cycling apparel than anyone I know. To say he taught me a lot would be a huge understatement. His knowledge is absolutely apparent in his selection of labels and styles. I would call his selection of clothing smart and precise; a range of prices and styles, with the biggest “bang for your buck” in the technologically advanced clothing. In other words, he picks clothing that actually works on the bike, rather than clothes that have “hanger appeal” (that is, clothes that look good on the hanger, or when you try them on, but don’t perform well on the bike). I find the clothing section well worth a look through every time I go there. And BTW, they have a killer sales rack.
My favorite mechanic at Helen’s SM, has got to be Wilber, the head mechanic. Wilber is all business, and has a keen eye for diagnosing a mechanical problem quickly. I love to work on my own bikes, but if ever I’m stumped or need advice, I go to Wilber.
Helen’s is a huge supporter of the AIDS Lifecycle ride, and other charity rides as well. They have training rides out of Helen’s SM nearly every Sunday, as run by Shifting Gears Cycling Club. They also have years of experience of outfitting charity riders of all types and sizes, with a variety of budgets.
Location: Santa Monica
Discount for club members and/or charity riders:
10% off bikes, frames, components & kits
15% off clothing and accessories

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

