Etxe Ondo Oyama Knickers: Winter 2007 Favorites for Cold Weather

The New Chamois

I was delighted to see that Etxe Ondo have made a good thing better; they’ve improved their women’s chamois pad so much, that it’s now my new all-around favorite. 

  • They’ve put more density in the pad directly under the sit bones, where it’s needed most (and just a few other well needed places).
  •  They’ve curved the profile of the chamois pad, so that there isn’t a sudden “step” in the pad. This means that there’s less chance of getting chafed from the “edge on the pad.
  •  They’ve put in a channel in the middle of the chamois. This is the most important improvement as far as I’m concerned, as it removes pressure from the place where there are a lot nerve endings. It has made this chamois magnificent to ride.

The Cut and Fabric 

But the Oyama Knickers aren’t just all about the pad. They are all about color blocked three-dimensionally designed fabric to form fit the body in bike position. They are all about EVERY seam being flatlock stitched flawlessly. They are about style, comfort, about feeling pretty and cozy instead of ff-freezing at 30-40 deg F.The fabric of the Oyama is fleeced Meryl, a soft but strong and snag resist material. The fleecing on the inside gives the material enough loft wick sweat away from the skin. This means that when I get caught in the rain in these knickers, my bottom stays warm and dry. Admittedly I haven’t gotten caught in a downpour yet, but I suspect these will hold up fairly well. My experience so far is that it stays warm, even when wet, and dries surprisingly fast. And (thank you) it’s wash and wear.

The Style 

The color blocking on these knickers is downright pretty. I match this with the Etxe Ondo Goiz Jersey, which is cut beautifully to match, and is made of the Thermolite, an Advansa fabric (the same makers of CoolMax Fabric), that’s cozy and fleecy on the inside yet not bulky at all. The outside is hydrophobic, meaning water and rain mostly roll off the exterior like water off a duck’s back. On days that I know I won’t get past 50 F, I wear a Craft Short Sleeve base layer. Until now, grey skies always meant looking dumpy on the bike for me. Inevitably, I’d have to layer with so many layers, that I’d feel (and sometimes look) like the Michelin Man. This outfit is perfect for when I need a one or two layer solution and it’s cold (or windy, or wet). But the fabulous difference is that this outfit says all woman, all over. It is absolutely more comfortable than all those layers, but also, I can’t help but feel like I’m stylin’ when I wear this. AND I’m laughing at inclement weather.

Finally, I’M laughing at the weather!

Leave a Reply

