Injury!

Well,
It’s certainly not the first injury I’ve ever had, and likely it won’t be the last (because, I plan the to active for as long as I live).
What happened
Danskin Sprint Triathlon was taking place in Disneyland!
WAY back in the days when I was a triathlete, most of the tris were olympic distances, to half Ironmans, so that’s what I did. Those tris ranged from “epic!” to “too fucking long”. I was totally psyched for doing my first tri in over fifteen years as a sprint, which means that it would be done in under two hours. Now, I’m a cyclist first, at this point, but I convinced myself that:
I could add in a swim at the gym easily, right?
Oh, and then there’s that run bit. Well, since my snowboarding accident ~five years ago, my ankle turns whenever I run, but I can correct that with shoes, right?
And it’s only, like, 2 and a half miles, so if I want to, I can walk it, right?
(OK, anyone who’s been in a triathlon knows that, if you do well in the first two legs, you’re not likely to just say, okay, here’s where I just stroll along as if I’m no longer competing, while all the people that you’ve just past, now pass you).
And I know gals that will be there, some of which I’ve coached, so it will be a good environment, no matter what, right?
So, I enter.
I’d been walking in vibrams five fingers on trail, and loving it. I’d heard that some people had success with “barefoot running” in vibrams, so I figured I’d give it a try. I started with one to two mile walk-run-walks, on trail, and progressed slowly over the course of the month, with a bit more run and less walk. My times were substantially down from running with regular shoes, but trail in these shoes meant exceedingly careful footfall, so I didn’t mind.
Move on to Bricks. I did a quick ten miler bike by the beach, with a plan to change into my vibrams, and do a one slow-run, on pavement. I stretched in between, but apparently it was not enough. About a half mile into the jog, I felt something***. It felt like a hot electrical pulse that started at the head of the Gastrocnemius, where it connects to the Achilles tendon. After that, the leg became inoperable. I had to limp the rest of the way back. Two days later, after elevation, analgesics, massage, and a bit of stretching and exercise, it felt like I was walking a bit more normal. But I figured I’d wait a while before I try another run, and just concentrate on the bike and swim.
I attended AIDS Lifecycle as a Bike Tech /Store Manager, which meant long hours hauling stuff, fixing bikes, and generally on my feet, so it was NOT getting rest. A short jog on a cork track sealed the deal for me that I was not going to do the Danskin Triathlon. After hearing somebody refer to my gait as somewhere between a saunter and a swagger, I knew something was wrong. A doctor confirmed a calf strain.
So instead, my husband and I had a great time going down to Disneyland, experiencing the Danskin Triathlon as spectators, and cheering on and supporting the gals I knew. So yep, I still had fun.

But now, I’m stuck on the sofa,
not allowed to bike ride for a week, with four weeks of physical therapy ahead, and no coaching for the first few weeks. I know that patience is a virtue, but it is just NOT my best asset. SO, as part of a plan to keep me from going stir crazy, we’ve decided to move up the dates that we get puppies. We were going to wait until mid-august, but now that I have the time to concentrate on them, why not? So now I’ve got puppy fever, which is a heck of a lot better than cabin fever. I’ve, in fact, just spoken with a lady that’s fostering a puppy that sounds perfect for us. I’m getting so excited!!! (no, I didn’t just pee myself; really).

What’s Next: Women’s 7 week Clinic – “Conquer the Santa Monica Mountains”
July 19th through Sept 14
Details very soon…

**aside**
About me “feeling something”.
I have VERY high tolerance for pain in some circumstances, usually internal trauma injuries. What might be hours of searing pain for others, might register as a “hot electrical pulse” to me, or maybe mild discomfort, along with difficulty with motion. I seem to adapt to new pain quickly, which can lead to serious injuries going unnoticed until it gets worse, and inhibits motion, and for example, I start to walk with a limp without realizing it. For me, a small limp has meant torn ligaments, tendons, and worse. That’s why, when someone I know asks me why I’m limping, I usually see a doctor to find out the answer.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

