Sullivan Canyon – Ghostly Memories of a Singletrack That Once Was

Here’s a video going up Sullivan Canyon, since the bulldozers have trimmed it down to a gravel superhighway. My husband was kind enough to speed up trail in the featureless sections, so that I could show what they’ve done to the formerly fun riding features. I know that it will make sense to people that have ridden up Sullivan Canyon, but I hope it’s entertaining enough for the general populace.

Music:  Clocks by Coldplay/ Buena Vista Social Club, remix on Rhythms del Mundo: Cuba

I have fond memories of Sullivan Canyon. It was the first trail I ever lived through hell on,  and laughed all through it. I remember passing my bike down a ten foot cliff, because the rains of 2005 washed everything away. There was still water up to your hubs. I point to it at 4:07 in the video.

I remember when this became my favorite trail. The constant changes in the trail from both rain and “first rider” ingenuity, made it fun and challenging (if not a bit risky). Though I am saddened by Sully’s lack of immediate challenge, I look forward to the new obstacles that water and earth will surely form in this beautiful place.

Just A Girl On a Single Speed

This is in Big Sycamore Canyon, on Guadalasca and Two Foxes trail. It had been a while since I’d been on my single speed mountain bike, so I had a few difficulties.

Just A Guad

Music: Just A Girl by No Doubt

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Sullivan Canyon – Ghostly Memories of a Singletrack That Once Was”

  1. dottie Says:

    Wow, awesome video! That song is an old high school favorite of mine 🙂

  2. Vienna Disco Says:

    NIce video. Oh man, Sully has changed. The last time I was up there was after a big rain and carved a nice little ridge. So is the trail open for good now?

Leave a Reply

